What Other Fiction I'm Reading

GOOGLE+ FOLLOWERS

Net Galley Member

Professional ReaderFrequently Auto-Approved Challenge Participant
Powered by Blogger.
Thursday, 23 June 2016

Kat's Review of The Rule of Fear by Luke Delaney

Hardcover: 432 pages
Publisher: HarperCollins (30 Jun. 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0007585721
ISBN-13: 978-0007585724
Product Dimensions: 15.9 x 3.8 x 24 cm

Synopsis: The new novel by Luke Delaney, ex-Met detective and author of the terrifyingly authentic DI Sean Corrigan series. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Sergeant Jack King is back on active duty after months off following a violent encounter. On the Met’s promotional fast-track scheme, King is headed straight for the top, but policing the streets is where his heart truly lies.

Tasked with cleaning up the notorious Grove Wood estate, King is determined to rise to the challenge. But it’s not just drug dealers and petty thugs his team have to worry about. Someone on the estate is preying on children, and they need to find the culprit, fast.

Soon King finds himself over his head: the local residents won’t play ball, his superiors want results yesterday, and he’s refusing to admit that he’s suffering from PTSD. As the pressures combine, the line between right and wrong starts to blur and King finds himself in a downward spiral. Only he can save himself – but is it already too late?

Kat's Rating: 4/5




Wednesday, 22 June 2016

Kat's Review of The Secret of Orchard Cottage by Alex Brown

Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Harper (2 Jun. 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0007597428
ISBN-13: 978-0007597420

Synopsis: April Wilson is wondering what to do next – her life has been turned upside down after the loss of her husband so she’s hoping to piece herself together again with a visit to her elderly great aunt, Edith. Arriving in the rural idyll of Tindledale, she’s dismayed to find Edith’s cottage and the orchard behind it in a sorry state of disrepair. Edith seems to have lost interest completely, instead she’s become desperate to find out what happened to her sister, Winnie, who disappeared during WWII.
April gets to work immediately, discovering that the orchard still delivers a bumper crop each year, and with the help of some of the villagers – including Matt, the enigmatic Farrier – begins to unravel the mystery of the missing Winnie. Slowly,
April can feel things coming to life again – but can Orchard Cottage work its magic on her too?

Kat's Rating: 5/5




Tuesday, 21 June 2016

Ash's Review of Forgotten by Heleyne Hammersley

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 606 KB
Print Length: 260 pages
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Bloodhound Books (29 April 2016)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l. 
Language: English

Synopsis: What if you woke up in a strange place and didn’t know who you were?
 
A woman wakes up in a Thai hospital unaware of how she got there or who she is. The doctor names her Kai, the Thai word for fever.
Unable to recall what led her to end up at the bottom of a cliff, Kai’s only clue to her identity is a diary. Stuck in a foreign land with no memory, she begins to unpick the truth about her past. And she will discover who she is and why she is in danger… This is Kai’s story

Ash's Rating: 5/5
Friday, 17 June 2016

BLOG TOUR: Outside Looking In by Michael Wood (Matilda Darke Series)

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 1803 KB
Print Length: 400 pages
Publisher: Killer Reads (26 May 2016)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English

Synopsis: The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

Kat's Rating: 5/5
Thursday, 16 June 2016

Q&A on Publication Day, with Tara Lyons and M A Comley!

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 4453 KB
Print Length: 181 pages
Publisher: Jeamel Publishing Limited (16 Jun. 2016)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English

Synopsis: The first gripping book in The Organised Crime Team series by NY Times bestselling author of the Justice series, M A Comley and co-author Tara Lyons, author of In The Shadows. 

When The Caller rings... what would you do? 

The Organised Crime Team is a newly-formed unit with one of the toughest tasks in London. Led by DI Angie North, their first investigation is a cold case that has foxed several officers in the Met for months.
After Angie holds a TV appeal regarding the case, a number of similar aggressive attacks are brought to her attention. The team call on their contacts on the street for help. Their interest is sparked when several local names surface. To bring the criminals to justice a member of the Organised Crime Team is asked to risk their life in a dangerous covert operation.
Wednesday, 15 June 2016

Kat's Review of 'Summer at Oyster Bay' by Jenny Hale

Paperback: 276 pages
Publisher: Bookouture (6 Jun. 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1786810301
ISBN-13: 978-1786810304
Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.6 x 19.8 cm

Synopsis: They say falling in love is easy. But what if you know it’ll break your heart?

For Emily Tate, returning to her charming childhood home Oyster Bay is like coming up for air after the fast pace of her city life. At the farm her grandfather built, surrounded by sister Rachel’s chatter, Gram’s butter biscuits and the soft, white sand, Emily is reminded exactly who she is and what she holds most dear.

When Emily starts work at elegant Water’s Edge Inn, Charles Peterson, the handsome new owner, asks for her help. He wants to expand and needs Emily to teach him the local ways, so he can convince the planning commission. Emily vows to make him fall in love with her hometown, just the way it is.

At work, Charles is reserved and serious, yet once Emily has him kicking off his shoes in the sand and sailing across glistening Chesapeake Bay, she sees another side to him, and their easy rapport feels like the start of something big.

But when it becomes clear Charles’s plans for the inn involve bulldozing Oyster Bay, Emily is heartbroken. Will she lose her home and Charles all at once, or can she save Oyster Bay, and give true love a chance?

Kat's Rating: 5/5
Friday, 10 June 2016

Guest Reviewer Ash on In The Lap Of The Gods by Ted Tayler

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 1725 KB
Print Length: 192 pages
Publisher: Ted Tayler (20 April 2016)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English
ASIN: B01ELZAQH6

Synopsis: This is the fourth book in the series so far, and it takes the stories featuring the Olympus Project in a new and exciting direction. From Larcombe Manor, Phoenix and Athena have battles to win against vicious gangsters on home soil and urgently need to identify factions within the organization plotting to take it in a different, far more sinister direction. 

The opening scenes at Glastonbury 2013 to the closing chapter cover little more than a month in time. Yet in that short month, the landscape surrounding the Project is altered forever. The action is non-stop as it switches from the West Country to Windsor, then from England to the Mediterranean. 

Ash’s rating: 3/5

What Crime I'm Reading

Blog Tour - Michael Wood

Blog Tour - Michael Wood

Blog Tour - Tara Lyons & Mel Comley

Blog Tour - Tara Lyons & Mel Comley

Search

Loading...

About Me

I'm Kat, a (clears throat) thirty-something woman who reads like a demon, gets on my soapbox and generally likes to share my views. My blog features news and reviews on mainly Crime, Thriller and Mystery's as well as some 'other' fiction thrown in for good measure.

Follow Me...




Goodreads

Member of Bloglovin

Follow

Crime, Thriller, Mystery Authors

Popular Posts

Ad Sense